Menu

Recently Reviewed Venues

Our user's love to tell us about their experiences at gigs and sporting events. Below, we've included a selection of our most recent venue reviews for you to read, but we'd love you to join in and submit reviews of your favourite concert venues. Use our directory, or our search box to find venues you've attended and please let us and ConcertHotels.co.uk's users know what you thought.

5

Oakengates Theatre, Telford

Gareth O 24 Nov Fri, 24 November 2017

Excellent venue in the centre.

Pros: Staff.
Cons: Nothing.

3

The Venue Derby, Derby

Kevin M 20 Nov Mon, 20 November 2017

Venue was OK.

Cons: Toilets were disgusting.

4

O2 Academy Glasgow, Glasgow

Carole D 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Love an all standing venue - it really adds to the experience.

Pros: Quickly in. Plenty of room. Bar service efficient.
Cons: Ladies toilets downstairs.

4

Anson Rooms, Bristol

Andy 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Pros: Venue location.

5

O2 Academy Brixton, London

Avtar T 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Pros: Best venue to watch a live band; atmosphere is electric.
Cons: Cost of drinks.

5

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Birmingham

Graham 13 Nov Mon, 13 November 2017

My Wife and I attended an Organ Concert, an excellent venue easily accessed by rail. The performance was superb as was the choice of music - we particularly enjoyed Widor's Toccata and Zadok the Priest.

Pros: My wife and I attended an Organ Concert; an excellent venue; easily accessed by rail with a superb performance.

5

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Karen 12 Nov Sun, 12 November 2017

Little Mix were amazing. Venue was fab. Entry and exit were very quick!

Pros: Little Mix were amazing and venue excellent. Quick getting in and out of the place!
Cons: Merchandise queues were very long!

5

The Queen's Hall, Edinburgh

Andrew 11 Nov Sat, 11 November 2017

Want to Queens Hall to see Lulu. Great night had by all; very entertaining; excellent view and acoustics.

Pros: Seats had excellent view; good sized hall and facilities all high standard.

5

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Birmingham

James 4 Nov Sat, 4 November 2017

I would recommend the Symphony Hall to anyone who enjoys a great acoustic experience in comfortable surroundings.

Pros: The main act (Collabro). The Symphony Hall is second to none for comfort, atmosphere, and acoustics.
Cons: Nothing!

5

Victoria Theatre, Halifax

John B 16 Oct Mon, 16 October 2017

A great show in an atmospheric venue.

Pros: The show and the surroundings excellent. Great show and atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing was bad.

4

Genting Arena, Birmingham

Adrian 16 Oct Mon, 16 October 2017

Attended a Neil Diamond concert on 15th October. Everything went well.

Pros: All.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Victoria Hall Stoke, Stoke-On-Trent

Mrs Hawkins 15 Oct Sun, 15 October 2017

The show itself was very good; not all the seats was taken which enabled us to move, as we were not happy with other spectators who were intoxicated.

Pros: Friendly staff; clean environment.
Cons: Price of amenities; inappropriate people who were clearly toxicated before the show.

4

O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield

Rachel 2 Oct Mon, 2 October 2017

Pros: Great venue; easy to get to with parking nearby.
Cons: Paid a lot for parking but then didn't need to give ticket when we left, so I feel we got ripped off there.

5

Calke Abbey, Derby

Karl 2 Oct Mon, 2 October 2017

Pros: Staff.

5

Newcastle City Hall, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Janet T 2 Oct Mon, 2 October 2017

Really enjoyed the gig; lovely atmosphere; just wish the security people had been a little more forgiving and let me talk to my partner across the aisle.

Pros: The Pretenders.
Cons: Over zealous security!

5

Ayr Gaiety Theatre, Ayr

Helen 1 Oct Sun, 1 October 2017

Overall great. The Steamie was fantastic as were the actresses for the actor. The music was also worth a mention - also fantastic.

Pros: The laughter.
Cons: A lady came into the circle to collect rubbish at the start of the 2nd half. Very annoying and absolutely inappropriate.

3

O2 Academy Bournemouth, Bournemouth

Peter 22 Sep Fri, 22 September 2017

Ryan Adams on top form, as always!

Pros: Plenty of room; acoustics fine!
Cons: Price of a can of lager - wtf - 4.80!

5

Villa Marina and Gaiety Theatre Complex, Isle of Man

S W 13 Sep Wed, 13 September 2017

Everything was very good.

Pros: Talks very good.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Blackpool Empress Ballroom, Blackpool

Liz W 1 Sep Fri, 1 September 2017

Went to see The Script at The Empress Ballroom, Blackpool 30 Aug 2017. Empress Ballroom is a fantastic venue for a concert. Hotels close by, close to station. Lots of places to eat. Really well run event. Can highly recommend it.

Pros: The Script were fantastic. Organisation of event fantastic. Queued for hours to get a good place to stand inside.
Cons: Queue to buy merchandise. Only 1 person serving so took forever.

5

Oasis Leisure Centre, Swindon

Jenny 27 Aug Sun, 27 August 2017

Had a lovely time in the pool with my 6year old, safe in the knowledge that there were plenty of lifeguards surveying.

Pros: The kids area and wave effects.
Cons: Short time allocation.

5

Hylands Park, Chelmsford

Billie M 22 Aug Tue, 22 August 2017

I had a great time! I enjoyed every moment of it - staff were so helpful!

Pros: Everything.
Cons: Drinks and food overly priced.

4

The Brighton Centre, Brighton

David 18 Aug Fri, 18 August 2017

Went to see Mamma Mia on the 17th of August. Great venue with good seating, although we started to feel a liitlle cramped by the second half but I am 6ft 2. My only negative would be I went on a route march to the top level in the interval to get a refreshment only to discover a queue of around 80 people with only 3 staff in attendance.

Pros: The show was a success.
Cons: Disappointed by the lack of refreshment points at the interval.

5

Somerset County Cricket Ground, Taunton

Julie R 15 Aug Tue, 15 August 2017

Would highly recommend - it was a fantastc day out.

Pros: The new pavilion where we sat was fantastic with a great view.
Cons: Nothing.

4

RHS Garden Wisley, Woking

Michael 2 Aug Wed, 2 August 2017

On a crowded day there was enough parking in the overflow car park from which a gentle stroll through the arboretum to the walled gardens where peace reigned. There was ample space for hundreds of children to enjoy picnics, explore and play and still we could enjoy our visit at our own slower pace.

Pros: A beautiful collection of plants in a peaceful setting. Hundreds of children - families enjoying picnics and exploration but still peaceful parts and fascinating; well kept and well labelled plants.
Cons: Our own limited time.

2

Dominion Theatre, London

Rosilyn B 2 Aug Wed, 2 August 2017

I did not enjoy the show one bit. I expected dancing but not an evening of ballet! Everything was what I would call "old hat" - I was bored and left at the interval. The most entertaining part were the flies behind the backdrop which were magnfied black blotches!

5

Kent County Cricket Club, Canterbury

Anthony B 24 Jul Mon, 24 July 2017

Attended a birthday party; excellent food and service.

Pros: Large entertainment room with a stage and nicely presented.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Powderham Castle, Exeter

Ian 17 Jul Mon, 17 July 2017

Pros: Location.
Cons: Traffic Management.

5

Old Royal Naval College, London

Linda M 4 Jul Tue, 4 July 2017

The Painted Ceiling tour is an interesting and once in a lifetime experience; will come back when all the work is done. What a fantastic setting for a concert - will come again.

Pros: Beautiful setting for a concert; highly recommended; will go again next year.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Sherwood Pines, Mansfield

Carol 28 Jun Wed, 28 June 2017

Pros: Staff assistance.
Cons: Length of wait to enter venue.

5

O2 Ritz Manchester, Manchester

Lesley C 24 Jun Sat, 24 June 2017

Went to see Mark Lanegan with my partner. Absolutely excellent as always although I was not keen on the support artists. Very reasonably priced drinks at the bar; smoking area; plenty of toilets; security staff were amazing. Wonderful surprise to see 'Hooky' play with Mark and the band at the end. Very poignant.

Pros: Excellent security; all staff professional yet friendly.
Cons: Lack of air conditioning - attended on a ridiculously hot night!

4

Motorpoint Arena Cardiff, Cardiff

Lynne 18 Jun Sun, 18 June 2017

Pros: Good seats.
Cons: None.

5

St Mary's Stadium, Southampton

Lindsay 10 Jun Sat, 10 June 2017

Went to see Robbie Williams!

Pros: Security; helpful stewards; easy to get drinks.
Cons: None!

4

Genting Arena, Birmingham

Anne 8 Jun Thu, 8 June 2017

Show was good and Elton hasn't lost the ability to entertain.

Pros: Sound and visibility.
Cons: Getting in because of long queues due to extra security but to be expected and not an issue.

5

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Kenneth 31 May Wed, 31 May 2017

Great food; great staff; superb.

Pros: Food is great and the staff are great.
Cons: None.

5

Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham

Jill H 30 May Tue, 30 May 2017

I travelled from Leeds to see Simple Minds on Friday 26th May 2017, only four days after the bombing at the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester. Despite this, I was still very keen to attend and I found the bag searches reassuring. Simple Minds were excellent as always and my experience was enhanced by my having a VIP seat on the 2nd row - close enough to see the blue of Jim Kerr's eyes!

Pros: I had an excellent view of the stage due to my seat on the 2nd row of the stalls.
Cons: Nothing was bad - I have no complaints at all.

5

Warwick Arts Centre, Warwick

Jacqueline A 19 May Fri, 19 May 2017

Recommend the venue.

Pros: Great show - Jools Holland.
Cons: None.

5

The Maidstone Studios, Maidstone

Sarah M 18 May Thu, 18 May 2017

Watched later with Jools Holland. Nothing bad to say about it.

Pros: Amazing experience with great music.
Cons: Maidstone town centre was disappointing.

5

The Maidstone Studios, Maidstone

Derek L 16 May Tue, 16 May 2017

Recording of Later...with Jools? Holland: great music; friendly.

Pros: Loved every minute of the experience, from listening to some genuinely talented musicians to watching a completely professional crew put together such a slick show.
Cons: Being herded into a waiting area before the show started was a bit rubbish, but even there I got the opportunity to meet some like minded and genuinely interesting people.

5

Bush Hall, London

Claire 15 May Mon, 15 May 2017

Pros: Gorgeous room. Not too big, so even when standing at the back to stay out of the crush you still felt part of it and had a great view of the band at all times.
Cons: Nothing bad to say. I'd love to see bands here again.

5

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham, Nottingham

Mr and Mrs W 13 May Sat, 13 May 2017

Had tickets to see Mickey Flanagan and nearly died laughing; best stand up comedian, on the same level as Peter Kay; awesome night at a great venue.

Pros: Easy to get to venue; great seats; great show.
Cons: None.

5

Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea

Emma S 12 May Fri, 12 May 2017

The building maximised the use of light and sea views which was lovely when having a pre performance drink. When it became dark it was also nice seeing the lights out to sea. The acoustics were very good and it had the right balance of size and intimacy. The attendant staff were very good.

Pros: The design of the building.
Cons: Perhaps there should have been more bar staff.

5

East of England Showground, Peterborough

Janet C 8 May Mon, 8 May 2017

Had a very good time with useful contacts made.

Pros: Attended to demonstrate. Very good feedback.
Cons: Lunch arrangements could be improved.

5

Genting Arena, Birmingham

Lesa P 8 May Mon, 8 May 2017

Excellent.

Pros: Everything; near to shops and restaurants.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham, Nottingham

Fiona C 29 Apr Sat, 29 April 2017

Pros: Bruno Mars!
Cons: Getting your taxi is a mission when you don't know the area.

5

Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham

Lorraine P 27 Apr Thu, 27 April 2017

Went to see Bruno Mars at Barclaycard Arena; very nice venue with lots of food choice.

Pros: The location of the arena.
Cons: None.

4

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Margaret S 18 Apr Tue, 18 April 2017

All good. Staff helpful and friendly. Stayed the night at the Campanile Hotel - very good move.

Pros: Seeing (just about) Bruno Mars.
Cons: Wish it had bigger screens or one on top of the stage as you really can't see from the back.

5

Birmingham Hippodrome , Birmingham

Kevin S 12 Apr Wed, 12 April 2017

Went to see Billy Elliot. First class performance; enjoyed every minute.

Pros: Plenty of restaurant choices in the area.

5

The Comedy Store Manchester, Manchester

Rebekah 9 Apr Sun, 9 April 2017

Pros: First time attending a Comedy Store show and loved every minute from start to end!
Cons: Nothing.

5

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Mar 6 Apr Thu, 6 April 2017

Awesome experience in such a great venue for the second time. Absolutely gorgeous views of the sea; nice staff working there who make it even more pleasant; Rick Astley's gig was an amazing experience.

Pros: Absolutely pleasant venue with great views by the sea; also the staff was really professional and nice.

5

Edinburgh Corn Exchange, Edinburgh

Georgia S 4 Apr Tue, 4 April 2017

Pros: The bands.
Cons: Nothing.