Menu

Recently Reviewed Venues

Our user's love to tell us about their experiences at gigs and sporting events. Below, we've included a selection of our most recent venue reviews for you to read, but we'd love you to join in and submit reviews of your favourite concert venues. Use our directory, or our search box to find venues you've attended and please let us and ConcertHotels.co.uk's users know what you thought.

4

Anson Rooms, Bristol

Amanda 10 Nov Sat, 10 November 2018

Saw Kurt Vile and the Violators. Brilliant night!

Pros: Great atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing to complain about.

5

Chinnerys, Southend-on-Sea

Bryan 28 Oct Sun, 28 October 2018

Suitablly sized venue for these tribute acts ("Motorheadache" and "Pure DC") creating a good atmosphere, especially during first act - tribute to Motorhead. The band conveyed great respect for their heroes' music and played and sang with skill and energy, getting the crowd of 50-60 people going. Good natured mosh-pit during Ace of Spades! Access to the bar and efficient staff was good. Reasonable selection of ales and lagers, although Doom Bar available in downstairs, but not in function room. AC/DC tribute played exclusively from the Bon Scott era, thus neglecting some of the bands' biggest hits, which may have been the cause of a flattening of the atmosphere (evening would probably have suited the acts playing in the reverse order). Seemed to be some confusion on set running order, especially with regular swapping of rhythm guitarist and drummer. However, singer and musicians were talented players of great music. Overall, Chinnerys was a great place to see live music in a friendly atmosphere.

Pros: Talented musicians; good tributes.
Cons: Could have been an announcement in the downstairs bar that the music was due to start. Only realised they'd started when I heard music, when the bar staff opened the door at the back of the bar.

4

Bonus Arena Hull, Hull

Amanda 24 Oct Wed, 24 October 2018

Pros: Clean.
Cons: Drink prices.

4

SEC Armadillo, Glasgow

Davy 15 Oct Mon, 15 October 2018

Pros: Access.
Cons: Queueing.

4

Arena Birmingham, Birmingham

Diana G 12 Oct Fri, 12 October 2018

Birmingham Arena - great venue for concerts etc.; good eating places, albeit slightly pricey; good seats.

Pros: Excellent concert; ELO were amazing; great seats; all very professional.
Cons: Not one thing.

5

New Theatre Oxford, Oxford

Keith 2 Oct Tue, 2 October 2018

Easy to book; great seats; wonderful performance.

Pros: Some Guys Have All The Luck was really good.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

David M 24 Sep Mon, 24 September 2018

Brudenell Social Club was a really good venue. It was the first time that I had been there (or to Leeds), and I found it to be nice. It is one of those buildings that seems bigger inside than it looks on the outside.

Pros: They Might Be Giants were excellent as always. The drinks were very cheap. The venue was really good as well.
Cons: Despite showing her both electronic and paper versions of my Skiddle ticket, the lady on the door was unable to find my name. She eventually agreed to take my paper ticket and stamped my hand. It was a little embarrassing holding people up for 2 or 3 minutes while she looked through her documents.

5

Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol

Michael 3 Sep Mon, 3 September 2018

Wasn't sure EXACTLY what to expect, but the performance overall was EXCELLENT; great musicians and a lovely singer.

Pros: Great songs performed excellently.
Cons: Having to walk back through Bristol late at night; also the cost of refreshments, ice creams etc. was far too high.

4

Trentham Gardens, Stoke-on-Trent

Andy J 27 Aug Mon, 27 August 2018

Good walk around lake and interesting gardens.

Pros: Gardens.
Cons: Most summer planting had gone over - by mid August.

3

The Leadmill, Sheffield

Philip B 26 Aug Sun, 26 August 2018

Bands were great; facilities were perfectly adequate. Leadmill is easy to find.

Cons: Price and selection of beers. 5.30 for a pint, in south Yorkshire, is close to robbery.

5

London Palladium, London

Jeremy 20 Jul Fri, 20 July 2018

A great experience from start to finish.

Pros: Amazing sets and staging; stunning costumes; great choreography. Beautifully cast.
Cons: None.

3

Stadiwm Zip World, Colwyn Bay

Jackie D 17 Jul Tue, 17 July 2018

Loved that the venue wasn't too big and we were able to see the artist rather than look at a big screen. Drinks way too expensive and unable to get a taxi home.

Pros: Good view.
Cons: Too much trouble with very drunk people.

5

Vivary Park, Taunton

Linda 17 Jul Tue, 17 July 2018

Pros: Event was organised very well. Polite staff. Great happy atmosphere. Kaiser Chiefs were just amazing. Bring them back next year please.
Cons: Only slight problem was the queues for the ladies loos; maybe more needed next time; a few rude people, too busy chatting, right in front of us and taking selfies, while some of us wanted to listen to the band.

5

O2 Academy Liverpool, Liverpool

Carole D 9 Jul Mon, 9 July 2018

Awesome gig with awesome people; shame about the heat.

Pros: Atmosphere was amazing and the sound quality was excellent.
Cons: Not air conditioned; the heat was terrible and the only saving grace was the continuous supply of iced water being handed out.

4

Glasgow City Halls, Glasgow

Helen 7 Jun Thu, 7 June 2018

Excellent performance of Walton's Belshazzar's Feast. Superb soloist, choir, and orchestra.

Pros: Excellent performances; particularly impressed with the Brass section, playing from the balcony.

5

HMS Collingwood, Fareham

Roger 4 Jun Mon, 4 June 2018

First time I've been there. A really good day out with a cracking atmosphere.

Pros: We really enjoyed the whole day. They can all feel proud of themselves.
Cons: Nothing that I noticed.

4

Scone Palace, Perth

Derek P 29 May Tue, 29 May 2018

A great venue if they can sort the drink prices and make the walk from the bus more sensible. Also in the town of Perth there was not a lot of information on where we were meant to be heading to get a bus etc.; more signage in town would improve it.

Pros: The weather and the music made it an almost perfect day.
Cons: The walk from the bus drop off point was long, and on the way back to the buses at the end it was chaos as not much security. The cost of a drink, 5.20, is ridiculous.

5

The Brighton Centre, Brighton

Lynne 15 May Tue, 15 May 2018

Visited to see Gary Barlow - amazing venue.

Pros: Service.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Somerset County Cricket Ground, Taunton

Christine N 15 May Tue, 15 May 2018

Brilliant facilities. Close to all amenities. Beautiful ground.

Pros: Centrally located. Great facilities. Definitely will visit again.
Cons: None.

4

The Roadmender, Northampton

Danielle 7 May Mon, 7 May 2018

Was a very good night.

Pros: Andy C.
Cons: Not enough toilets.

5

Victoria Warehouse, Manchester

Nicki 6 May Sun, 6 May 2018

Very spacious and well looked after; bar staff friendly and swift; best night out.

Pros: The bar staff; the building; the line up.
Cons: Nothing.

4

St David's Hall Cardiff, Cardiff

A. B 3 May Thu, 3 May 2018

St David's Hall is located in the centre of Cardiff less than a five minute walk from Cardiff Central train station. The staff were both friendly and helpful - something not all venues manage to provide. My only gripe being the size of the seating which could do with being a little larger with a tad more leg room (I'm not huge). That aside, a great venue.

Pros: Location; friendly; helpful staff.
Cons: Seats could be a fraction bigger with more leg room.

5

Richmond Theatre, Richmond

Zalhe 18 Apr Wed, 18 April 2018

We got to the theatre with minutes to spare. One of our party was running late; rather than the usual attitude of if you're late you cannot go in the staff were very helpful - they said we could leave the ticket at the box office to be collected and they would show the late comer in. The show was brilliant and the audience were in hysterics the whole way through. I have told all my friends about the show and they are booking tickets.

Pros: The venue staff were very polite and helpful. We watched Menopause the Musical - it's the funniest thing I have seen in years.

5

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Richard 17 Apr Tue, 17 April 2018

Was a wonderful night. Sheridan was in full voice, sang a super range of music and interlinked it with comedy. She is such a diverse, lovely performer.

Pros: Super 'Sheridan Smith' Concert.

4

Kings Theatre Glasgow, Glasgow

Myra 13 Apr Fri, 13 April 2018

The Jersey Boys were great. Thoroughly enjoyed it it, though not as spectacular as Las Vegas, but Vegas is Vegas!

Cons: Noise of public/staff walking around during the performance.

2

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Elinor 9 Apr Mon, 9 April 2018

We had to change seats as our legroom was sooo short due to where a pane of safety glass was fitted. We couldn't move our legs at all - it was very, very uncomfortable.

Pros: Great view.

4

Usher Hall, Edinburgh

Marie W 8 Apr Sun, 8 April 2018

Lovely hall; great show.

Pros: Great views of stage.

4

Lyric Theatre London, London

Peter 25 Mar Sun, 25 March 2018

Recently attended a performance of the Thriller show - was excellent, full of energy throughout.

Pros: Easy access to upper circle seats.
Cons: No bad comments.

5

Regal Cinema Evesham, Evesham

Andy M 19 Mar Mon, 19 March 2018

We arrived just after seven o'clock and given directions to our seats by a very helpful member of staff. Our seats comprised of a two seater settee with a table upon which was our pre-ordered bottles of wine and a jug of water, all set in our own little space at the top of a short flight of stairs. After approx. five minutes our pre-ordered food arrived which was excellent. The Rolling Stones tribute band were excellent entertainment.

Pros: Seating, service and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing bad, good all round experience.

5

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Birmingham

John 16 Feb Fri, 16 February 2018

Wonderful venue; always a pleasure to be there.

Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.

2

Royal and Derngate, Northampton

Lena 4 Feb Sun, 4 February 2018

Pros: The second half was very good with plenty of laughs.
Cons: We did not enjoy the first half, and did not find this entertaining or funny.

4

Festival Theatre Edinburgh , Edinburgh

Margaret 26 Jan Fri, 26 January 2018

At Miss Saigon - had seen this show before but this production was excellent - ''the Engineer' was fantastic and this is just a pure love story and the wee boy Tamjust stole your heart.

Pros: Ease of access and comfortable seat.
Cons: None.

4

Glee Club Cardiff , Cardiff

Philip D 22 Jan Mon, 22 January 2018

We will definitely go again, but l do hope next time if there are annoying people around the bouncers move them elsewhere.

Pros: Comedians were good.
Cons: We were disappointed that a couple in front of us never stopped talking - we did miss some of the show. A young chap at the side of us asked him politely to be quiet but his girlfriend also started being annoying so the bouncers were called which did put a bit of a damper on it.

4

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

William 15 Dec Fri, 15 December 2017

Pros: Great view; well organised.

4

O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire, London

Lindsay D 13 Dec Wed, 13 December 2017

Had a really good visit to Shepherds Bush O2 for the Wretch 32 gig, 11/12/17. Was fantastic. His support acts were good. Door staff were good. Bar very busy at the after party though!

Pros: The artist. The seat.
Cons: Very crowded. Queue for toilets.

5

Bournemouth International Centre, Bournemouth

Gina C 11 Dec Mon, 11 December 2017

Friendly staff; clean and good facilities.

Pros: Friendly staff; facilities.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Sadler's Wells, London

Julia T 11 Dec Mon, 11 December 2017

Seats were excellent and comfortable; environment beautifully decorated for Christmas; sound quality was very good but just slightly too loud.

Pros: Superb performance as always from Matthew Bourne's company.
Cons: Nothing at all.

5

FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield

Sandra S 10 Dec Sun, 10 December 2017

The organised taxi did not arrive at all, so missed the first 35minutes of the show; do not use city taxis - we booked and had left enough time, but they kept telling us, it will be there in a few minutes.

Pros: Absolutely everything; fantastic gig.
Cons: Yes, but purley independent.

5

Oakengates Theatre, Telford

Gareth O 24 Nov Fri, 24 November 2017

Excellent venue in the centre.

Pros: Staff.
Cons: Nothing.

3

The Venue Derby, Derby

Kevin M 20 Nov Mon, 20 November 2017

Venue was OK.

Cons: Toilets were disgusting.

4

O2 Academy Glasgow, Glasgow

Carole D 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Love an all standing venue - it really adds to the experience.

Pros: Quickly in. Plenty of room. Bar service efficient.
Cons: Ladies toilets downstairs.

4

Anson Rooms, Bristol

Andy 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Pros: Venue location.

5

O2 Academy Brixton, London

Avtar T 19 Nov Sun, 19 November 2017

Pros: Best venue to watch a live band; atmosphere is electric.
Cons: Cost of drinks.

5

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Birmingham

Graham 13 Nov Mon, 13 November 2017

My Wife and I attended an Organ Concert, an excellent venue easily accessed by rail. The performance was superb as was the choice of music - we particularly enjoyed Widor's Toccata and Zadok the Priest.

Pros: My wife and I attended an Organ Concert; an excellent venue; easily accessed by rail with a superb performance.

5

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Karen 12 Nov Sun, 12 November 2017

Little Mix were amazing. Venue was fab. Entry and exit were very quick!

Pros: Little Mix were amazing and venue excellent. Quick getting in and out of the place!
Cons: Merchandise queues were very long!

5

The Queen's Hall, Edinburgh

Andrew 11 Nov Sat, 11 November 2017

Want to Queens Hall to see Lulu. Great night had by all; very entertaining; excellent view and acoustics.

Pros: Seats had excellent view; good sized hall and facilities all high standard.

5

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Birmingham

James 4 Nov Sat, 4 November 2017

I would recommend the Symphony Hall to anyone who enjoys a great acoustic experience in comfortable surroundings.

Pros: The main act (Collabro). The Symphony Hall is second to none for comfort, atmosphere, and acoustics.
Cons: Nothing!

5

Victoria Theatre, Halifax

John B 16 Oct Mon, 16 October 2017

A great show in an atmospheric venue.

Pros: The show and the surroundings excellent. Great show and atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing was bad.

4

Genting Arena, Birmingham

Adrian 16 Oct Mon, 16 October 2017

Attended a Neil Diamond concert on 15th October. Everything went well.

Pros: All.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Victoria Hall Stoke, Stoke-On-Trent

Mrs Hawkins 15 Oct Sun, 15 October 2017

The show itself was very good; not all the seats was taken which enabled us to move, as we were not happy with other spectators who were intoxicated.

Pros: Friendly staff; clean environment.
Cons: Price of amenities; inappropriate people who were clearly toxicated before the show.