Menu

Recently Reviewed Venues

Our user's love to tell us about their experiences at gigs and sporting events. Below, we've included a selection of our most recent venue reviews for you to read, but we'd love you to join in and submit reviews of your favourite concert venues. Use our directory, or our search box to find venues you've attended and please let us and ConcertHotels.co.uk's users know what you thought.

5

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham, Nottingham

Fiona C 29 Apr Sat, 29 April 2017

Pros: Bruno Mars!
Cons: Getting your taxi is a mission when you don't know the area.

5

Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham

Lorraine P 27 Apr Thu, 27 April 2017

Went to see Bruno Mars at Barclaycard Arena; very nice venue with lots of food choice.

Pros: The location of the arena.
Cons: None.

4

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Margaret S 18 Apr Tue, 18 April 2017

All good. Staff helpful and friendly. Stayed the night at the Campanile Hotel - very good move.

Pros: Seeing (just about) Bruno Mars.
Cons: Wish it had bigger screens or one on top of the stage as you really can't see from the back.

5

Birmingham Hippodrome , Birmingham

Kevin S 12 Apr Wed, 12 April 2017

Went to see Billy Elliot. First class performance; enjoyed every minute.

Pros: Plenty of restaurant choices in the area.

5

The Comedy Store Manchester, Manchester

Rebekah 9 Apr Sun, 9 April 2017

Pros: First time attending a Comedy Store show and loved every minute from start to end!
Cons: Nothing.

5

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Mar 6 Apr Thu, 6 April 2017

Awesome experience in such a great venue for the second time. Absolutely gorgeous views of the sea; nice staff working there who make it even more pleasant; Rick Astley's gig was an amazing experience.

Pros: Absolutely pleasant venue with great views by the sea; also the staff was really professional and nice.

5

Edinburgh Corn Exchange, Edinburgh

Georgia S 4 Apr Tue, 4 April 2017

Pros: The bands.
Cons: Nothing.

4

O2 Academy Glasgow, Glasgow

Deborah R 31 Mar Fri, 31 March 2017

Pros: Good lay out in bar and arena area.
Cons: The queue management was poor. Security staff didn't have a clue. Concert goers with online tickets reached the doors only to be sent back to queue again at the Ticket Office to exchange online tickets for proper tickets, and then queue a third time to get in! We were there primarily to see Banfi, the support band and only got in in time due to the kindness of other concert goers who let us jump the third queue!

3

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Ronnie 31 Mar Fri, 31 March 2017

Mrs Brown's Boys was alright but it was old material that I had seen a few times.

Pros: It was alright but seen it before.
Cons: Same as above.

5

Genting Arena, Birmingham

Tracy 26 Mar Sun, 26 March 2017

Brilliant night.

Pros: Seeing Olly Murs.

5

Sheffield City Hall, Sheffield

Dawn W 22 Mar Wed, 22 March 2017

Excellent venue. Very well organised. Staff were most helpful.

Cons: Nothing.

5

Newcastle City Hall, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Mr L 21 Mar Tue, 21 March 2017

First time I had ever been and the atmosphere was great.

Pros: The whole concert.
Cons: The seating could have done with more leg room but with it being such a good concert I didn't mind.

5

Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow

Annmarie 20 Mar Mon, 20 March 2017

This was my first time in the concert hall and I really liked how cosy and relaxing it is. Much better than all the bigger places.

Pros: All seats had a good view.
Cons: None.

4

Norfolk Showground, Norwich

Dirk 19 Mar Sun, 19 March 2017

Schools National Cross-Country Championships. Well organised. Several thousand participants with accompanying family supporters.

Pros: Dry underfoot. Good, spacious parking, well directed. Toilets.
Cons: Exit. Long queues, leading directly onto a roundabout. Tricky if you are not familiar with the layout.

4

Doncaster Dome, Doncaster

Kirstie T 17 Mar Fri, 17 March 2017

Pros: Intimate gig.
Cons: All good.

4

Dominion Theatre, London

Odran 17 Mar Fri, 17 March 2017

The story line was very weak but the dancing in the show was brilliant. Poor access was an issue with only one person on one door allowing patrons to enter following a security check that was nominal to say the least.

Pros: The dancing in the show.
Cons: The access to theatre with a nominal and largely waste of time security check.

5

Royal Albert Hall, London

Ian B 13 Mar Mon, 13 March 2017

Titanic Live. Remarkable event. The film and orchestral delivery was the best I have ever seen.

Pros: Everything. Best thing ever.
Cons: None.

5

O2 Academy Glasgow, Glasgow

Richard R 13 Mar Mon, 13 March 2017

The Stranglers were in their best form yet. The Ruts DC were fantastic too. Just a brilliant night!

Pros: Excellent seating with good view. Good bar facilities.
Cons: Pity the outside of the building looks so tatty.

4

The Harold Pinter Theatre, London

John 7 Mar Tue, 7 March 2017

It's a lovely theatre, but of it's period, so narrow walkways/stairways.

Pros: The play we went to see: Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf.
Cons: The raking of the seats (in the stalls) is too shallow, so our view of the stage was obscured by people in front of us.

4

Venue Cymru, Llandudno

Dawn M 24 Feb Fri, 24 February 2017

Didn't even know this place existed but would recommend for a concert anytime.

Pros: Not too large a venue for a concert; plenty of toilets and refreshment stands.
Cons: Choice of merchandise at the refreshments stands wasn't great and very overpriced.

5

Victoria Theatre, Halifax

Roland 21 Feb Tue, 21 February 2017

Pros: Atmosphere; sound.
Cons: The bar is too small.

4

Victoria Theatre, Halifax

Margaret 20 Feb Mon, 20 February 2017

Will definitely go again.

Pros: The group.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

Paul B 19 Feb Sun, 19 February 2017

Fantastic gig as usual by Chuck Prophet and The Mission Express, which suited the venue perfectly. Can't praise it enough.

Pros: The concert room was a good size - intimate but not uncomfortably so. Stage a good size for a five piece and good P.A. Well stocked bar.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Novello Theatre, London

Colin 12 Feb Sun, 12 February 2017

Pros: The show Mamma Mia.
Cons: Nothing.

5

The Slaughtered Lamb, London

Graeme 10 Feb Fri, 10 February 2017

Pros: The venue has a real atmosphere to it; excellent service and it's a great place to see live bands.

5

O2 ABC Glasgow, Glasgow

Shaun D 25 Jan Wed, 25 January 2017

Pros: Great sound; not too big; cold beer.
Cons: None.

4

East of England Showground, Peterborough

Terry C 25 Jan Wed, 25 January 2017

Pros: The variation of machines on show.
Cons: The price of food and coffee.

5

SEC Armadillo, Glasgow

Chris 11 Jan Wed, 11 January 2017

My two fave bands and they played long sets - brilliant atmosphere.

Pros: Great show.

5

Kings Theatre Glasgow, Glasgow

Cynthia B 7 Jan Sat, 7 January 2017

Cinderella Panto at Kings Theatre. Excellent.

Pros: All excellent.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow

Angela 5 Jan Thu, 5 January 2017

Pros: Good view of stage; comfortable seats.
Cons: Disappointing performance but that was not the fault of the Concert Hall. No significant criticism of Concert Hall.

4

The Brighton Centre, Brighton

Miranda 5 Jan Thu, 5 January 2017

Excellent venue for shows; the staff were efficient and the seats were good.

Pros: Clean and spacious.
Cons: No, although it got a bit chilly with the air con on.

4

Lyric Theatre London, London

Sandra 29 Dec Thu, 29 December 2016

A wonderful show and a lovely experience.

Pros: Thriller very good.
Cons: Just the seating pitch of an old theatre.

3

Motorpoint Arena Cardiff, Cardiff

Heather 24 Dec Sat, 24 December 2016

Strangest venue I have ever been in. If you are upstairs you go down a long hallway to different doors to get to your seats. Not bad, just weird. Seems like it could use some updating.

Pros: Sound was great. Good view from the balcony.
Cons: The crowd in the balcony sat the whole show! Come on - DANCE!

5

Opera House Manchester, Manchester

Nigel 23 Dec Fri, 23 December 2016

Pros: Entertainment 1st class.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Lighthouse Poole, Poole

Victoria 19 Dec Mon, 19 December 2016

Great evening all round.

Pros: Seth L
Cons: Nothing.

5

Band on the Wall, Manchester

Steve N 18 Dec Sun, 18 December 2016

Pros: Great venue. Great gig!
Cons: Nope!

5

Savoy Theatre London, London

Paul 17 Dec Sat, 17 December 2016

Nice bar facility; great seats and a great show.

Pros: Super show.
Cons: Nothing.

4

Pyramids Centre Portsmouth, Portsmouth

Stephanie T 15 Dec Thu, 15 December 2016

This wasn't a sell out concert so lots of concerns I had after reading Facebook reviews of the venue weren't applicable. Good bar service; clean toilets; great acoustics; friendly security.

Pros: Great acoustics.

5

His Majesty's Theatre Aberdeen, Aberdeen

Jane R 15 Dec Thu, 15 December 2016

It was a great experience.

Pros: The whole show was brilliant.
Cons: Nothing.

4

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Ian 14 Dec Wed, 14 December 2016

Rod Stewart was excellent.

Pros: Venue access and egress.
Cons: We were high up in the venue - could have done with better TV screening of the event.

5

The Stables Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes

Kay E 13 Dec Tue, 13 December 2016

First time visit here, also first visit to Milton Keynes. Lovely small venue which created a marvellous atmosphere. Stayed at nearby hotel. Decided to find the venue when arriving in Milton Keynes during daylight, which turned out to be a good idea - may have been a problem trying to find it in darkness, given that we were unfamiliar with the many roundabouts, plus the country lane where the Stables is situated. Great venue, will definitely come again.

Pros: Small intimate venue; great atmosphere.

5

The SSE Hydro , Glasgow

Bridie 12 Dec Mon, 12 December 2016

Fantastic show; staff in the VIP lounge were very friendly and helpful.

Pros: Concert.
Cons: Nothing, it was all good.

5

The Plaza Stockport, Stockport

Esther L 11 Dec Sun, 11 December 2016

Pros: Beautiful theatre and show was great fun.
Cons: Would have liked Wendy to sing more than 1 song as she is a great singer.

5

Plymouth Pavilions, Plymouth

Yvonne P 11 Dec Sun, 11 December 2016

A brilliant venue; acoustics excellent; seating good; also a good view wherever you are seated; been many times, will continue to do so.

Pros: Seeing the Jools Holland.
Cons: Nothing.

5

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham, Nottingham

Susan C 10 Dec Sat, 10 December 2016

I was very impressed with the Motor Point Arena.

Pros: They always put on a good concert.
Cons: None.

5

The Brook Southampton, Southampton

Kay W 15 Nov Tue, 15 November 2016

Fabulous location.

Pros: Space.

5

Eventim Apollo, London

Noel.W 14 Nov Mon, 14 November 2016

It was great a experience for me for sure; first time in London overnight; the show was the greatest show I have ever seen - the great Kenny Rogers.

Pros: Kenny and his fantastic music.
Cons: No, all was excellent - the best night ever.

5

Aldwych Theatre, London

Paula 13 Nov Sun, 13 November 2016

We saw the musical 'Beautiful' based on the early career of singer/songwriter Carole King and enjoyed it immensely. The theatre was easy to find and within walking distance of our hotel and the restaurant we ate in pre-performance. The theatre has a cosy and friendly atmosphere, and the seats we had reserved were first class, though my view of the stage was somewhat hampered due to the fidgeting, stretching and head rolling of the chap in the seat in front of mine! However, this did not detract from what was a hugely enjoyable evening/birthday treat for my husband and me.

Pros: Friendly, efficient staff. Good atmosphere. Comfortable seats.
Cons: More leg room would have been nice, but nothing in the visit could be described as 'bad'.

5

Repton School, Derby

Linda G 12 Nov Sat, 12 November 2016

5

Sheffield City Hall, Sheffield

Sheila L 12 Nov Sat, 12 November 2016

Queen Extravaganza - best tribute band I've ever seen.

Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.